Transport and Environment Committee

10am Tuesday 3 June 2014

Appointments to Sub-Committees and Working Groups Etc 2014/2015

Item number 7.18

Report number Executive/routine

Wards

Executive summary

The Transport and Environment Committee is required to re-appoint membership of its Sub-Committees and Working Groups Etc for 2014/2015. The current membership is detailed in the appendix to this report.

Links

Coalition pledges

Council outcomes CO25

Single Outcome Agreement

Report

Appointments to Sub-Committees and Working Groups Etc 2014/2015

Recommendations

- 1.1 To appoint the membership of the Committee's Sub-Committees and Working Groups Etc for 2014/2015.
- 1.2 To appoint the membership of the Committee as members of the Policy Development and Review Sub-Committee in line with the Committee Terms of Reference and Delegated Functions.
- 1.3 To appoint the Vice-Convener of the Transport and Environment Committee as the Convener of the Policy Development and Review Sub-Committee.
- 1.4 To note the position regarding the appointment of a new Convener of the Cycle Forum.

Main report

Appointments to Sub-Committees and Working Groups Etc 2014/2015

2.1 On 4 June 2013, the Transport and Environment Committee appointed members to its Sub-Committees and Working Groups, etc for 2013/2014. The current membership is set out in the appendix to this report.

Policy Development and Review Sub-Committee

2.2 The Committee Terms of Reference and Delegated Functions specify that membership of the Committee's Policy Development and Review Sub-Committee will be the same as the parent Committee and that the Vice-Convener of the parent Committee will be the Convener of the Sub-Committee.

Cycle Forum

2.3 Before progressing with the appointment of a new Convener of the Cycle Forum, the Committee, on 18 March 2014, agreed to await the outcome of the work done by members of the Transport Forum to scope ideas and options for a Walking Forum.

Measures of success

3.1 Not applicable

Financial impact

4.1 Not applicable

Risk, policy, compliance and governance impact

5.1 Not applicable.

Equalities impact

6.1 Not applicable

Sustainability impact

7.1 Not applicable

Consultation and engagement

8.1 Not applicable

Background reading/external references

Minute of Transport and Environment Committee of 4 June 2013

Minute of Transport and Environment Committee of 18 March 2014

Committee Terms of Reference and Delegated Functions

Alastair D Maclean

Director of Corporate Governance

Contact: Lesley Birrell, Committee Officer

Email: lesley.birrell@edinburgh.gov.uk | Tel: 0131 529 4240

Links

Coalition pledges

Council outcomes CO25 - The Council has efficient and effective services that

deliver on objectives.

Single Outcome Agreement

Appendix Current Membership of Working Groups Etc

Working Groups Etc

Cycle Forum

1 Member (Convener of the Transport and Environment Committee)

Councillor Hinds

Transport Forum

5 Members (1 Labour, 1 SNP, 1 Conservative, 1 Green, 1 SLD)

Councillor Hinds

Councillor McVey

Councillor Mowat

Councillor Bagshaw

Councillor Aldridge

Carbon, Climate and Sustainability Working Group

5 Members (Convener and Vice-Convener of the Transport and Environment

Committee, 1 Conservative, 1 Green and 1 SLD)

Councillor Hinds

Councillor McVey

Councillor Mowat

Councillor Bagshaw

Councillor Aldridge

Duddingston Village Traffic Working Group

5 Members (1 Labour, 1 SNP, 1 Conservative, 1 Green, 1 SLD and local ward members for the Craigentinny/Duddingston Ward)

Councillor Hinds

Councillor McVev

Councillor Mowat

Councillor Bagshaw

Councillor Aldridge

Councillor Griffiths (local Ward Member)

Councillor Lunn (local Ward Member)

Councillor Tymkewycz (local Ward Member)

Leith Programme Oversight Group

12 Members (Convener and Vice-Convener of Transport and Environment Committee and local ward members for the City Centre, Leith and Leith Walk wards)

Councillor Hinds

Vacancy

Councillor Blacklock

Councillor Booth

Councillor Brock

Councillor Chapman

Councillor Doran

Councillor Gardner

Councillor McVey

Councillor Mowat

Councillor Munro

Councillor Rankin

Tram All Party Oversight Group

10 members (Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council, Opposition Group Leaders, Convener and Vice-Convener of Transport and Environment Committee, Opposition Spokespersons of Transport and Environment Committee

Councillor Burns

Councillor Cardownie

Councillor Hinds

Councillor McVey

Councillor Aldridge

Councillor Bagshaw

Councillor Burgess

Councillor Edie

Councillor Mowat

Councillor Rose

Zero Waste Cross Party Cross Council Group

5 Members (1 Labour, 1 SNP, 1 Conservative, 1 Green, 1 SLD)

Councillor Hinds

Councillor McVey

Councillor Mowat

Councillor Booth

Councillor Aldridge